FANDOM


Bazzel

Burst(バースト) is a game mechanic which debuted along with the Battle Spirits Heroes anime. It is an effect that all types of cards may have. Bursts are cards that are placed face down, kept secret and activated under certain circumstances (such as when you lose a life). Cards with burst effects usually can be played as regular cards also.

This effect allows the player to surprise the opponent. Cards with this ability include The ExplosionHero Lord-Dragon-Bazzel and Burst Flame.

Burst Condition EventsEdit

  • After your Life is decreased.
  • After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent.
  • After your Spirit or Ultimate is destroyed by the opponent.
  • After your Spirit is destroyed/depleted by the opponent.
  • After your opponent activates a Spirit or Brave's (When Summoned) effect.
  • After an opponent's Spirit attacks.
  • After an opponent's Spirit or Ultimate attacks.
  • After your opponent increases the number of cards in his/her hand by their effects.
  • After a Spirit/Brave is summoned by opposing effects.

Usage and LimitationEdit

Burst may be activated when an "Event" that fulfills their condition occurs and will take effect after all other effects resolve. For example, if an opponent summons a spirit and uses its [When Summoned] effect, a burst card with [When opponent activates "When Summoned" effect] must wait until the opponent resolves the effect before the burst can open. If the burst's condition is [After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent] and the destroyed spirit stays on field through an effect, then the burst cannot open.

Cards That Have Burst Effects Edit

List of Red Bursts

List of Blue Bursts

List of White Bursts

List of Green Bursts

List of Purple Bursts

List of Yellow Bursts

UsersEdit

Q&AEdit

Bursts (General)Edit

Q1. What is Burst?
A1. Burst icon (Burst) is a card placed face down on your field. Effects starting with Burst icon (Burst) are treated as Burst effects.

Q2. How do you set a burst?
A2. A "Burst" is set by placing a card with a Burst effect face down on your field without paying its cost. Setting a Burst can only be done once during your Main Step.

Q3. How are burst effects used?
A3. Burst effects are activated when the condition written on the burst set on your field is fulfilled, such as (After Your Life is decreased), and are declared as activated. The burst effect then activates without paying the cost.

Q4. Do you have to place any cores on the set Burst?
A4. No, you do not have to place any cores on the set Burst.

Q5. What if you accidentally set a card that does not have Burst effects by mistake?
A5. You lose the battle. Even if you did not activate the set Burst after the game ends, you must still reveal the set Burst at the end of game before you put away your deck.

Q6. Can the set Burst be returned to hand to set another Burst?
A6. No, the set Burst cannot be returned to the hand. If you want to set another Burst, the previously set Burst must be discarded in order to set a new Burst. It is not possible to discard the previously set Burst without setting a new one.

Q7. If the Burst condition is fulfilled, must the set Burst be activated?
A7. No, it is optional to activate the set Burst when the condition is fulfilled. The same set Burst can be activated later in the game whenever the condition is fulfilled.

Q8. Can the (Flash) effect of Magic cards with "Burst" be activated from hand?
A8. Yes, the (Flash) effect of Magic cards can be used as normal Magic cards.

Q9. Can the (Flash) effect of a Magic card that is set as a Burst be activated during the "Flash Timing" by paying the cost?
A9. No, it cannot be.

Q10. When the cost for flash paid for the effect "Destroy 2 opposing Spirits with 3000 BP or less. After that, by paying the cost of this card, activate the (Flash) effect of this card"?
A10. The (Flash) effect is activated and the cost is paid after the effect of "Destroy 2 opposing Spirits with 3000 BP or less", and before the (When Destroyed) effects of the destroyed Spirits are activated. After the (Flash) effect is activated, the (When Destroyed) effects are activated.

Q11. Are Burst effects blocked by effects of Armor or Invincibility?
A11. Yes, Burst effects of Spirits are treated as spirit effects, and Burst effects of Magic are treated as magic effects.

Q12. Can Burst effects of Magic cards be negated with Ice Wall?
A12. No, Ice Wall cannot negate the Burst effects of Magic cards. "Burst effects" does not count as using Magic cards.

Q13. Can Magic cards that are revealed and placed in the removed from game zone be set as Bursts?
A13. No, they cannot be set.

Q14. If you have a set Burst with the condition of "After your life is decreased", and The GiantBeastEmperor Smidlord is summoned without paying its cost because of its effect, is The GiantBeastEmperor Smidlord summoned before the Burst effect?
A14. Yes, The GiantBeastEmperor Smidlord is summoned first. After that, activate all effects related to decreasing life before activating the Burst effect. Finally, activate the Burst effect.

Q15. Can a Burst with the condition "After your life is decreased" be activated with the LV3 effect of The SacredBeast Barrong when you decrease your own life?
A15. Yes, it can be activated.

Q16. Can the (Flash) or (Main) effects of Magic Cards with Burst effects, activated through the effect of "After that, by paying the cost of this card, activate the (Flash)/(Main) effect of this card" be negated with effects of Ice Wall?
A16. No, they cannot be negated. The activation of (Main) or (Flash) effects through Burst effects does not count as the use of magic.

Q17. When do you declare the activation of a Burst with the condition "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect"?
A17. This effect is declared after your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect. However, the Burst effect is activated after all other effects are activated and resolved.

Q18. Do you have to pay the cost of a Spirit card summoned with Burst effects?
A18. No, you do not have to pay the cost to summon the Spirit.

Q19. Can Spirit cards be summoned by Burst effects while The Pirate King's Treasure Island's "spirits cannot be summoned with effects" effect is active?
A19. Yes, they can be summoned. Set Bursts are only affected by effects related to Bursts.

Q20. Can you confirm the contents of your set Burst?
A20. Yes, you may do so. However, make sure that your opponent does not see the contents.

Q21. What if you activated a Burst with an incorrect condition?
A21. The Burst effect will not be activated, and it is returned to its previous condition.

Q22. When your opponent activates the effect of (When this Spirit is Summoned), and that effect destroyed a Spirit with a (When this Spirit is destroyed) effect, can a Burst with the condition "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" be activated?
A22. Yes, it can be. A burst can be declared any time from immediately after the burst condition is fulfilled to when both players make sure all effects stemming from the effect that triggered it have been resolved. After that, it cannot be declared active when an unrelated effect is used, another spirit is summoned, or when moving onto the next step.

Q23. The Burst effect of Burst Flame is activated, destroying the opponent's Sha-Zoo. After that, the cost is payed to activate the (Flash) effect. Which effect is resolved first, the destruction of a brave spirit through the flash effect or the "when destroyed" effect of Sha-Zoo?
A23. The effect when destroyed of Sha-Zoo is activated after Burst Flame's flash effect destroys a brave spirit. If the part above "after that" triggers a destruction effect, that cannot activate until the lower portion is resolved.

Q24. If your opponent depletes your spirit, can a Burst with the condition "After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent" activate?
A24. No, it cannot be activated.

Q25. When the (Flash) or (Main) effect of a Magic card is activated through Burst effects, can the number of reduction symbols be increased with the effect of Pentan?
A25. No, the number of reduction symbols cannot be increased as burst cards can only be affected by effects that specify bursts.

Q26. When the burst condition is "After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent", can the burst not be activated until the destroyed spirit is sent to the trash?
A26. No, the burst can be declared activated from the point that your spirit is destroyed to when both players make sure all effects stemming from the effect that triggered it have been resolved. However, if the destroyed spirit remains on field, returns to your hand, or is otherwise not sent to the trash after the burst is declared activated, that burst cannot be activated and is returned to its former position.

Q27. Can a "destroy one opposing spirit" summon effect fulfill the "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" condition of your burst even if there are no spirits on your field to destroy?
A27. Yes, the burst can be activated. As it is not an optional effect (する), even if there is no target, it still activates.

Q28. When a spirit's summon effect has "may" (できる) and the effect is not used, can it still fulfill the "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" condition of your burst?
A28. No, it cannot. "May" effects do not activate automatically.

Q29. When a spirit's summon effect has "by doing" (することで) and the effect is not used, can it still fulfill the "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" condition of your burst?
A29. No, it cannot. "By doing" effects do not activate automatically.

Q30. When a spirit's summon effect has "when" (のとき) and "when" part does not fit, can it still fulfill the "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" condition of your burst?
A29. No, it cannot. "When" effects cannot activate without the condition fulfilled.

Q31. After a burst with the condition "After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent" is declared activated, when effects that stem from that destruction are being resolved, can "while you have a set burst" effects be activated?
A31. Yes, until you actually use the burst effect, the burst remains set.

Q32. When two bursts activate at the same time, which comes first?
A32. The blocking player goes first when there is a simultaneous block declaration. After both players activate, whichever burst activated first goes first with no regard to turn player. After all effects stemming from that are resolved, the next burst is resolved.

Q33. When the burst condition is "After an opponent's spirit attacks", when does the burst activate?
A33. The burst effect can be declared active from when the opponent declares an attack to when all effects stemming from the attack are resolved, up until flash timing begins.

Q34. When the burst condition is "After an opponent's spirit attacks", when does the burst effect activate?
A34. It activates after all effects stemming from the attack are resolved and before flash timing begins.

Q35. When do "after your burst activates" effects activate?
A35. First all of your burst effects are resolved, then all effects when destroyed and the like stemming from that are resolved, and lastly "after your burst activates" effects activate.

Q36. When a spirit with a "after your burst activates" effect like The IceHero Mibrock-Baragan is summoned through a burst effect, can it activate its effect?
A36. No, "after your burst activates" effects of spirits summoned after the burst effect resolves cannot activate for that burst.

Q37. When your spirit already on field has its level raised and gains an "after your burst activates" effect while your burst is resolving, can it activate its effect?
A37. If its level is high enough to have the "after your burst activates" effect at the timing when it activates, the effect can activate.

Q38. Can a burst with the condition "After your life is decreased" activate after an ultimate decreases your life?
A38. Yes, it can.

Q39. Can a burst with the condition "After your spirit is destroyed by the opponent" activate after your ultimate is destroyed?
A39. No, it cannot.

Q40. Can a burst with the condition "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" activate with an ultimate's summon effect?
A40. No, it cannot.

Q41. Can a burst with the condition "After an opponent's spirit attacks" activate after an ultimate attacks?
A41. No, it cannot.

Q42. When the burst condition is "After your Spirit is depleted/destroyed by the opponent", can the burst not be activated until can the burst not be activated until the depleted/destroyed spirit is sent to the trash?
A42. No, the burst can be declared activated from the point that your spirit is depleted/destroyed to when both players make sure all effects stemming from the effect that triggered it have been resolved.

Q43. When the burst condition is "After your Spirit is depleted/destroyed by the opponent" and the depleted/destroyed spirit remains on field, returns to your hand, or is otherwise not sent to the trash after the burst is declared activated, what happens to the burst?
A43. If the destroyed/depleted spirit is not sent to the trash after the burst is declared activated, that burst cannot be activated and is returned to its former position.

Q44. After a burst with the condition "After your Spirit is depleted/destroyed by the opponent" is declared activated, when effects that stem from that depletion/destruction are being resolved, can "while you have a set burst" effects be activated?
A44. Yes, until you actually use the burst effect, the burst remains set.

Q45. When your brave spirit is destroyed and you declare the activation of a burst with the condition "After your Spirit is destroyed by the opponent" and the brave of the destroyed spirit remains on field, what happens?
A45. The burst can be activated, but when checking the details of the spirit destroyed when the burst was activated, the cost, color, when braved BP, and when braved effects of the brave that remained on field are not included.

Q46. When the burst condition is "After your opponent increases their hand due to their effects", when is the burst declared activated?
A46. It can be declared activated from the moment the opponent increases their hand to when all effects stemming from it have been resolved.

Q47. When the burst condition is "After your opponent increases their hand due to their effects", can it be activated when the opponent uses an effect like "Draw two cards from your deck. After that, discard two cards from your hand" that does not increase their hand in the end?
A47. Yes, it can be activated.

Q48. When the burst condition is "After your opponent increases their hand due to their effects", can it be activated when the opponent uses an effect like "increase the number of cards you draw on your draw step by +1"?
A48. No, it cannot be activated. The number of cards drawn is increased by effects, and is not actually increasing the hand by effects.

Q49. When the burst condition is "After your opponent increases their hand due to their effects", can it be activated when the opponent returns cards from their trash to their hand?
A49. Yes, it can be activated. It can be activated whenever the opponent increases their hand other than with drawing as well.

Q50. When the burst effect has the condition "when your life is 3 or less" and your life is 4 or more, can that burst be activated?
A50. No, it cannot be. That effect cannot be activated, so "after that effect activates" burst effects also cannot be activated, and the burst card is sent to the trash.

Q51. Can the summon conditions of ultimates be ignored when summoning through burst effects?
A51. No, the summon conditions cannot be ignored.

Q52. When activating a burst, do "while you have a burst set" effects not activate from that point on?
A52. No, that is incorrect. Even when declared activated, that burst is treated as a set burst until it activates its burst effect.

Q53. When activating a magic card as a burst and the cost is paid to use the Main or Flash effect through the burst effect, are two effects activated at once?
A53. No, that is incorrect. When a burst is activated, the burst effect and the Main/Flash effect that is paid for are treated as a single effect.

Q54. When activating a magic card as a burst and a spirit is destroyed through the burst effect and another spirit is destroyed by paying the cost for the flash effect, does that count as a spirit being destroyed on two occasions?
A54. No, that is incorrect. The spirits destroyed by the burst and flash effects are destroyed simultaneously, so effects activating when a spirit is destroyed only activate once.

Q55. Can a "if Soul Core was used to pay the summon cost" summon effect fulfill the "After your opponent activates a Brave or Spirit's (When Summoned) effect" condition of your burst even if Soul Core was not used to pay the cost?
A55. No, it cannot. "If Soul Core was used to pay the summon cost" effects cannot activate without the condition fulfilled.

Related ArticlesEdit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.